T-Minus 40 Days ‘Til Lift Off

Everybody knows that feeling.  The feeling when you’ve dreamed, thought and fantasized about something for so long…  and now it’s actually coming true.

This year, I finally decided to stop saying and start DOING.   So what did I do?  I – very, very impulsively – booked three trips (so far) in this coming calendar year.   And I’m fucking excited about it.

You see, the travel bug truly beat me over the head in 2011 when I travelled to Iceland, England and Portugal on a high school Europe trip with friends.  Right after returning from there, the next month I road tripped to Washington DC and Myrtle Beach with my crazy family.  And from then on, I was hooked.

But there was an issue, you see.  The issue where society says you have to, “Get a degree, get a job that pays well and then buy a home”.  In that order.  Or else.

And for so long, I suppressed my dreams of travel in order to attempt to obtain these things that have become our societal standards of success (Which… why?  I can successfully binge watch 3 seasons of Netflix in one week, and I think that should be a TRUE standard of success).  So, after high school  I attended the University of Guelph and obtained my degree in English, and got a decent job right out of school.  And hell, I had an amazing University experience that I wouldn’t take back for the world – don’t get me wrong.  I learned so much about myself and the world and for that I am forever grateful.  But there was only one problem, which I realized shortly after moving back from my University town.

And that is:  I haven’t felt fulfilled.

Any traveller will agree and understand when I say that there is no more fulfilling or enlightening experience than that of which you can see, learn, and experience in a foreign country.  I have no words for it, nor do I even want to attempt to explain it due to it’s complexity.  It is something that is truly just – magical  (and I’m aware of how cheesy and comical that sounds, but it’s the truth!)

So, this year my life is going to have some changes – and I’ve made this blog so that I can document these changes and write about my experiences during and after my travels so that my family and friends can read up on them also!

Anyways, here we go.  T-Minus 40 days ’til lift off, friends.

– T xoxo

cropped-img_0873.jpg

First flight departs:  March 15th, 2017.

Destination: Dublin, Ireland.

Excitement Level:  At the stage where I have too many Irish Travel apps which I flip through on the reg.

(And yes, that is really my tattoo). 

Leave a Reply

